The Happy Cookbook: A Celebration of the Food That Makes America Smile

The Happy Cookbook


They say if you buy a cookbook and find one “keeper” recipe in it, it was well worth your investment. There are many keepers in this beautiful book rich with memories and family history, so enjoyable written, that you just want to hang out in the Doocy Family Kitchen. You can tell the couple put their heart and soul into this project. The recipes are straightforward, and in most cases use items you have on hand. You can almost taste them as you read! Everyone can use this cookbook but it is a must have for the person who enjoys personal, family, church, civic organization or American regional type cookbooks.



The American Woman’s Cook Book

American Woman's Cook Book


Molly Liggin Rankin posted a picture of this cook book on Facebook this morning. The book in her picture was her mother’s, Edna Matthews Liggin.

“This old cookbook was on top of my mother’s refrigerator most of my childhood as best I remember. That fancy platter of “petits fours” picture on the inside cover of the book always intrigued me….needless to say, Edna didn’t make petits fours but this was the only cookbook I remember in our house.”

Me being me, I had to see if it was on Amazon. There are several editions of book on there. The one shown above was printed in 1951.

Debbie Macomber’s Cedar Cove Series

This is the series by Debbie Macomber that the Hallmark Channel series Cedar Cove is based on. The story follows the lives of the residents of small town Cedar Cove. I read the books as they were published and really enjoyed them.  The TV show does not follow the books  but is still good.  Watching the show after reading the books can be a little confusing but at the same time it is very hard to keep up with all the characters if have not read the books.  I do recommend the books.

Farmhouse Rules: Simple, Seasonal Meals for the Whole Family

Farm House Rules

Nancy Fuller has a popular cooking show. She shares her recipes and tip bits about her family and friends. I started watching her by accident. The show came on one morning and she was talking about her grandmother who was a Tabor. My grandmother was a Tabor also. I kept watching to find out more her Tabors and I liked the show. This is one of her cookbooks. I think you will enjoy it.